The 2018 midterm election created a lot of change in Minnesota’s congressional delegation. Five of the eight members heading to Washington, D. C. will be part of a first-term class in the U. S. House that also puts the Democrats back in the majority for the first time in nearly a decade. Several of Minnesota’s new members are also from different parties than their predecessors.

Rep.-Elect Jim Hagedorn is a Republican who won the open seat in the 1st District that was vacated by Democrat Tim Walz. Rep.-Elect Dean Phillips is a Democrat who bested Republican incumbent Erik Paulsen.

We talked with the two of them about the orientation weeks they participated in, heading to work in a polarized political environment and more.